BRICS SEMINAR ON GOVERNANCE 2021

Building Consensus and Confidence for BRICS Cooperation with a Shared Future

Agenda

2 November 2021.

Time: 19: 00-20: 50. Opening Ceremony

Moderator: Gao Anming, Vice President and Editor-in-Chief of China International Communications Group

Time: 19: 05-19: 15. Keynote Speech

Speaker:

Xu Lin, Deputy Head of the Publicity Department of the CPC Central Committee; Minister of the State Council Information Office of China

Time: 19: 15-19: 40. Opening Speeches

Speakers:

Sun Weidong, Chinese Ambassador to India

Ash Narain Roy, Director of Institute of Social Sciences, India

Du Zhanyuan, President of China International Communications Group

Time: 19:40-19:50. Launching and Signing Ceremony

- 1. Launch of the BRICS Seminar on Governance and Cultural Exchange Forum 2020
- 2. Signing Ceremony of "BRICS Governance Joint Research and Knowledge Sharing Initiative"

Time: 19:50-20:50. Plenary Speeches

Speakers:

- 1. Katia Abreu, Senator and President of the Committee on Foreign Affairs and National Defense of the Federal Senate, Brazil; Former Minister of Agriculture, Livestock and Supply of Brazil
- 2. Wang Linggui, Vice President of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences
 - 3. Vladislav Fronin, Editor-in-Chief of Rossiyskaya Gazeta
- 4. Jiang Xiaojuan, Member of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, Vice Chairperson of the Committee of Social Construction of the National People's Congress, Dean and Professor of the School of Public Policy and Management at Tsinghua University
- 5. Busani Ngcaweni, Principal of the National School of Government, South Africa
- 6. Zhou Qiangwu, Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer of the New Development Bank
- 7. Sergio Guerra, Dean of Rio de Janeiro Law School of the Getulio Vargas Foundation (FGV), Brazil

Time: 20: 50-21: 00. Conclusion

Conclusion by Gao Anming, Vice President and Editor-in-Chief of China International Publishing Group

3 November 2021

Time: 19: 00-20: 50. Parallel Sessions

Parallel Session 1: Strengthening BRICS Mechanism for Firmer Consensus on Multilateralism

Moderator: Yu Yunquan, President of the Academy of Contemporary China and World Studies

Speakers (10 minutes each):

- 1. Rong Ying, Vice President of China Institute of International Studies
- 2. Evandro Menezes de Carvalho, Professor of International Law and Coordinator of the Brazil-China Studies Center at FGV Law School in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
- 3. Vladimir Petrovskiy, Vice-Chief of Center for Study and Forecast of Russia-China Relations, Institute of Far Eastern Studies, Russian Academy of Sciences
- 4. Chen Lijun, Vice President of Yunnan Academy of Social Sciences
- 5. Natalia Pomozova, Assistant Professor of the Department of Contemporary East of the Russian State University for the Humanities, Moscow
- 6. Krish Chetty, Research Manager at the Inclusive Economic Development Division of Human Sciences Research Council, South Africa
- 7. Feng Shaolei, Director of Center for Russian Studies, East China Normal University
- 8. Philani Mthembu, Executive Director at the Institute for Global Dialogue, South Africa

- 9. Avijit Banerjee, Head and Professor of the Department of Chinese Language and Culture (Cheena Bhavana) Visva-Bharati University, India
- 10. Funeka Yazini April, Coordinator of the BRICS Research Centre, Human Sciences Research Council, South Africa
- 11. Rakesh Datta, Professor of the Department of Defence and National Security Studies, Panjab University, India

Parallel Session 2: Improving People's Well-being and Promoting Common Development and Prosperity for All Countries

Moderator: Yang Ping, Party Secretary of the Academy of Contemporary China and World Studies

Speakers (10 minutes each):

- 1. Han Qingxiang, Professor of the Party School of the CPC Central Committee (National Academy of Governance)
- 2. Paulo Nogueira Batista Jr., Professor of the Celso Futado Chair at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Former Vice President of the New Development Bank
- 3. Binod Singh Ajatshatru, Director of the BRICS Institute New Delhi
 - 4. Zhang Weiwei, President of China Institute, Fudan University
- 5. Irina Yarygina, Head of the Chair of MGIMO University under the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation, Professor of Financial University under the Government of the Russian Federation, Research Director of the National Committee on BRICS Research
- 6. Jaya Josie, Distinguished South African Economist, Visiting Professor at Zhejiang University
- 7. Anna E. Kurumchina, Associate Professor at the Ural Federal University, Director of the Agency for Cultural and Scientific Diplomacy, Russia

- 8. Barwa Kanyane, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Management, Commerce and Law at the University of Venda, Former Research Director at the Human Sciences Research Council, South Africa
- 9. Hu Biliang, Executive Director of the Belt and Road Research Institute, Beijing Normal University
- 10. Poonam Surie, Adjunct Fellow at the Institute of Chinese Studies, Delhi
- 11. Arkhipova Violetta, Senior Researcher of Institute of Economics, Russian Academy of Sciences
- 12. Elen de Paula Bueno, Researcher of the Center for BRICS Studies, University of São Paulo, Brazil

Parallel Session 3: Upholding Common Values for More Solid and Stable BRICS Cooperation

Moderator: Wang Yuning, Vice President of the Academy of Contemporary China and World Studies

Speakers (10 minutes each):

- 1. Dong Qing, Director General for International Cooperation, Party School of the CPC Central Committee (National Academy of Governance)
- 2. Panova Viktoriya, Vice President for International Relations of the Far Eastern Federal University (FEFU), Russia
- 3. Narnia Bohler-Muller, Divisional Executive of the Developmental, Capable and Ethical State Research Program, Human Sciences Research Council, South Africa
- 4. Aparajita Biswas, Professor and Director of Centre for African Studies, University of Mumbai, India
- 5. Zhou Zhiwei, Executive Director of Center for Brazilian Studies, Institute of Latin American Studies, CASS
- 6. Paulo Esteves, Professor at the Institute of International Relations of the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro

- 7. Dai Yonghong, Distinguished Professor of the Institute of China's Oversea Interests, Director of the Institute of Bay of Bengal Studies, Shenzhen University
- 8. Boris Guseletov, Senior Fellow Institute of Socio-Political Research – Branch of the Federal Center of Theoretical and Applied Sociology of the Russian Academy of Sciences (ISPR FCTAS RAS)
- 9. Wang Dong, Executive Director and Professor of the Institute for Global Cooperation and Understanding, Peking University
- 10. Jos é Ricardo dos Santos Luz J ú nior, CEO of the Business Leadership Group China, Brazil
- 11. Sibusiso Bakana, Research Fellow of Afro-Sino Centre of International Relations (ASCIR), South Africa

Time: 20: 50-21: 00. Conclusion

Yu Yunquan, President of the Academy of Contemporary China and World Studies